ITU Graduate Dr. Bahar Makes a Breakthrough

by İTÜ | May 05, 2020
Professor Dr. Ivet Bahar, an ITU graduate who opened new horizons in molecular biology with her studies, became the first Turkish scientist to be selected as a member of the American National Academy of Sciences (NAS), one of the most prestigious scientific academies in the world. Carrying on her research on biological systems and drug design studies in the USA, Prof. Dr. Bahar made both our university and our country proud with this success.

Completing her doctorate in Physicochemistry in ITU in 1986, Ivet Bahar focused on polymer physics. Dr. Bahar continued her studies in the USA by winning the UNESCO scholarship. Dr. Ivet Bahar was the first Turkish scientist to be elected to the US National Academy of Sciences, 190 of which were Nobel laureates, with a total of 2,900 members. Professor Bahar said, “This selection actually means that the research I have conducted so far is accepted by a respected scientific institution. This is something to be proud of.”

ivet bahaslider

Professor Dr.  İvet Bahar has been working as the Founding President and Distinguished Professor at the University of Pittsburgh, School of Medicine, Department of Computer and Systems Biology since 2004. Being a member of Professor of European and Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO), Academy of Sciences (BA) and European Research Council (ERC) Physical and Engineering Sciences review board, Prof. Bahar has more than 250 articles in computational biology.

Outstanding Cadre, 190 of which are Nobel Prized

The US National Academy of Sciences (NAS) is considered the most outstanding science academy in the world. The academy was founded  on March 3, 1863 by the US parliament with the task of informing the President of the United States on science and technology issues. The Turkish scientist Prof. Dr. Aziz Sancar who received the Nobel Prize in 2005, had been chosen as a member. In 2014, MIT Economics Professor Daron Acemoğlu was elected for NAS membership. NAS also elects a group of scientists from different countries as the non-US citizens. ITU Faculty member from the Department of Geology Prof. Dr. Prof. Celal Şengör and Anthropologist Prof. Dr. Mustafa Özdoğan takes place are also members of NAS. NAS has 2,400 original members, 190 of which are Nobel Prize winners, and 500 foreign members.